Nominations for Shri Om Prakash Bhasin Awards can be forwarded by the following categories of persons :-

  1. Presidents of approved scientific societies of all India character.

  2. Vice-Chancellors and Deans of Science, Engineering and Technology and Medical Faculties of Universities, and corresponding functionaries of Agricultural Universities.

  3. Heads and Deans of Faculties of institutions deemed to be of University status (viz. Indian Institute of Sciences, Bangalore, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, Post-Graduate Institute of Medical Sciences, Chandigarh, Birla Institute of Technology Pilani, etc.)

  4. Directors of Indian Institutes of Technology.

  5. Director-Generals of major R&D Organisations : Defence Research and Development Orgnisation, Indian Council of Agricultural Research, Indian Council of Medical Research, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, Indian Meteorological Department, Geological Survey of India etc.

  6. Chairman of Commissions: Atomic Energy, Space, Oil and Natural Gas, University Grants Commission etc.

  7. Members of the Planning Commission.

  8. Secretaries - Departments of Science and Technology; Scientific and Industrial Research; Ocean Development; Space; Atomic Energy; Environment; Mines, Metals and Fuel; Energy; Petroleum and Chemicals; Agriculture and Animal Husbandry; Ministries of Health, Railways, Shipping and Transport, Information Technology, Non-Conventional Energy Sources

  9. Directors of Bhabha Atomic Research Center (BARC), Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), Bose Institute, Forest Research Institute, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Physical Research Laboratory, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), of all Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)Laboratories, all Defence R&D Laboratories,' all laboratories functioning under Indian Council of Agricultural Research(ICAR) and Indian Council of Medical Research. (ICMR).

  10. Directors of Co-operative Research Associations and of major private R&D Laboratories, as approved by the Department of Science and Technology.

  11. Awardees of Shri Om Prakash Bhasin Foundation for Science and Technology.

  12. The Judging Committee constituted for the year can also draw up a list of eminent persons who may be specially requested to send nominations.